Sponsored By:


West Schools: Wellington Highs’ Matthew Tenore, drum major in the school band …


Matthew Tenore, drum major in the school band, was awarded the Erin Fernandez Memorial Scholarship at the band’s annual awards banquet. The scholarship is given each year to an outstanding senior in the band who plans to major in music in college. The scholarship was established in memory of Erin Fernandez, a Wellington High band member who was killed in a car crash in 2003.

Seminole ridge high

Alexander Santacroce received the $500 Best Student Athlete Charles Mancuso scholarship.

Placing fourth in the Palm Beach Atlantic University mathematics and computer science competition was the team of Seham Ahmed, Keith Miner, Jaret Rimel, Samuel Smith and Mitch Vasquez.

English teachers who hope to implement a new and exciting curriculum have created a website seeking funds from the business community. The goal is to raise $25,000 to buy the College Board’s Springboard curriculum for next year’s freshmen and sophomores. For information or to make a donation, visit www.gofundme.com/SpringboardSRHS or contact carly.gates@palmbeachschools.org.

At the recent “Mayhem at the Museum” at the Discovery and Science Museum in Fort Lauderdale, Jesse Mendheim and Bert Sivongsay showcased VEX Robotics, with the school’s Iron Dragon v3 running a maze and manipulating Gateway game elements of barrels, balls, and rings.

At the Florida Scholastic Press Association’s state convention in Orlando, TV production student winners included: first place, Carry-In Public Service Announcement, Chris Waddington and Jake Wiseman; first place, On-The-Spot Collaborative Commercial, Summer Bong; third place, Carry-In News Intro, David Freund and Jake Wiseman; third place, Carry-In “Every Student Has a Story,” David Freund; third place, Carry-In Sports Package, Courtney Byrd and Jordan Meredith; third place, On-The-Spot Edit to the Beat, David Freund, Chris Waddington and Jake Wiseman.

TV Production students performed well in this year’s Florida Association of Media Educators’ Jim Harbin Festival: first place, comedy, Austin Kelley, Anthony Manrique, Brandon Mizrahi and Eric Phan; first place, drama, Kaylynn Beasley, Sade Hamilton, Tynesia Heath, Amber Herman and Jordan Meredith; first place, news feature, David Freund; first place, news show, Jordan Meredith (producer); first place, public service announcement, Tara Dearth, Liz Dimpflmaier and Paige Petronella; second place, news feature, Travis Berry; second place, PSA, Chris Waddington and Jake Wiseman; second place, PSA, Danielle Couture and Corey Huff.

berean christian school

A full-ride scholarship for two years at Palm Beach State College was awarded to senior Stephanie Smith.

A scholarship to play softball at Palm Beach Atlantic University was awarded to Amber Johnson, valedictorian.

Two seniors, Melissa Bierman and co-salutatorian Heather Klotz, received the U.S. Congressional Award Gold Medal for outstanding academics and service in their communities.


The Spirit of Liberty Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution recently presented Good Citizens medals to Wellington High senior Kaitlin Samulkewitsch and Wellington Christian School senior Rebekah Best for their outstanding service to the community. Talia Fradkin of Palm Beach Virtual School, president of the Chief Tiger Tail Society Children of the American Revolution and Florida state historian, received first place for her poem in the Junior American Citizens Committee Contest. Fellow Chief Tiger Tail member Courtney Carhart of Royal Palm High won second place in the ninth-grade division of the stamp contest.

The Palm Beach County Council of Teachers of Mathematics recently presented its annual Teacher of the Year Awards to: elementary school, Carlee Consagra, Palm Beach Maritime Academy; middle school, Regina Belcher, Bak Middle School of the Arts; high school, Fannie Hart, Pahokee High. Also recognized were the other finalists: elementary school, Robin Levin of Pine Jog Elementary and Louise McGinnis of Golden Gove Elementary; middle school, Tiffany McIntosh of Roosevelt Middle and Nadia Theodore of Okeeheelee Middle; and high school, Vera Gibson-Willis of Palm Beach Lakes Community High School.

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>